36th Farmers Day Celebration in Akuapim South

Placeholder image Akuapim South Municipality was not left out this year’s nationwide Farmers Day Celebration which was held on 6th of November, 2020. The celebration was graced by the Municipal Chief Executive (MCE), Hon. Frank Aidoo, Member of Parliament (MP), Hon. O. B. Amoah, Madam Lydia Akueteh, Municipal Coordinating Director and was chaired by Otuobour Nana Gyan Kwasi, Chief of Aburi. Various speeches were given by the MCE, MP, the Chair and the Municipal Agric Officer, Madam Tharzia Akwetey. The speeches included congratulatory messages, the way forward and messages to encourage the youth to get involved in Agricultural activities to create employment.

The Municipal Fire Service also educated farmers on how to protect their farms from bush fires through a drama performance. About twenty-three (23) farmers were awarded. Mr. Kwame Tormatsi from Nsakye, a farmer of vegetables, maize, pigs, cows, layers, plantain, pineapple, sheep and goats was crowned the Akuapim South’s 2020 Best Farmer, followed by Mr. Alex Opare of Dago and Ogyefour Company Limited from Mentukwa as the second (2nd) and third (3rd) farmers in the municipality respectively.

  • Jan 14, 2021
  • Leave a comment